After T20 honour, Babar Azam named captain of ICC ODI team of the year as well

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday announced its ODI team of the year featuring two Pakistani players — Babar Azam and Fakhar Zaman — with the former given the reins to captain the honorary line-up, just as in the T20I eleven.

The cricket body had unveiled its T20I team of the year a day ago, naming Azam as its skipper for his “classy best” performance in the format last year, during which he was also the leading run-scorer at the T20 World Cup. He earned the same honours for the 50-over format as well.

The 11-member ODI team announced today comprises Babar Azam (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Rassie van der Dussen, Shakib Al Hasan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mustafizur Rahman, Simi Singh and Dushmantha Chameera.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button